30 Days of Security Testing – Day Two

The challenge for Day Two is to select and read a book related to Security Testing.

I’m going to cheat a bit here, a couple of months ago I read Ghost in the Wires by Kevin Mitnick.

At one stage Kevin Mitnick was the most sought after cyber criminal on the FBI’s most wanted list.

This was a really good read, and gave a great insiders point of view of social engineering playing a major part in hacking/phreaking activities.

Many of Kevin’s exploits were enabled by people he’d never met, trusting he was someone he wasn’t.

An interesting book I saw listed on the Testers Island Discs Podcast – Recommended Reads list (woah that was a mouthful) was InSecurity by Jane Frankland, highlighting why the lack of women in cyber security is hurting the industry.

 


 

Thanks for reading my post and following my progress through the 30 Days of Security Testing.

For more on Security Testing please visit here  or any of my other ramblings visit here

Feel like joining in? Sign into the WeTest Slack group and get involved!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑